A Descent into the Maelström

The first is over, merely another eight remain.  Doesn’t sound great, but it’s a good start.  So, what question did I answer for the synoptic paper?  What could possibly be written about for three and three-quarter hours solid?  Well, I went for Exoplanets.  Turns out my astronomy keenness of several years is actually helpful!  I managed to get some random comments into the essay, including referring to “Davey Jones’ Locker”, whether aliens could speak fluent English or not, and porridge and Goldilocks and the Three Bears.  Overall it went surprisingly well.

We got sent emails today reminding us to hand in all our practical work next week.  I wasn’t aware of the fact that we needed to do this, and so there are large gaps in the practicals I’ve been able to locate. Cortisol levels are sky high at the moment, I’m not going to lie, especially with the core essays tomorrow!

For those of you who are interested, today’s exam represents 4% of this year’s grade, and 12% of the total time spent in examinations. Including the 20% of my grade that will be determined from my mapping project, 76% of the marks and 88% of the time spent in exams remain.

In other news, there was a third anonymous donation to my pigeon hole yesterday afternoon of a couple of packets of sweets.  Not sure who it was this time, but as before, whoever you are, you have my deep gratitude!

Fun things that have happened include the ordering of the Sedgwick Club stash (always nice to get some of that), and my book about the UL is now in the post (see my previous post entitled “Groundhog Day).  I also found a fiver that I didn’t know I had in a drawer which was nice.

Anyway, now that the first paper is over, it’s back to the UL for me alas.  The core paper is tomorrow morning, and with 4 essays to be written, it’ll be a morning filled with glorious fun!  Let the cramming commence!

NB: If you want to read the story after which this post is entitled, you may find it here.  It’s a good one!

Leave a Reply

