The Beginning of the End

It’s the penultimate day of May Week, and so things are beginning to wind down.  The Sedgwick Club “May Ball” was today, and it was great to see all the geologists one last time before we break up for the summer (or graduate in the case of a few of them), and enjoy a [traditionally rainy British summer] barbecue.  SP and the rest of his steel pan band were playing, and they were great (I particular enjoyed their rendition of Take On Me, which worked really well on the pans). I’ve also managed to get a ticket to Corpus May Ball tomorrow night, which should be enormous fun.  I’m also now going to the summer ball at Imperial on Saturday night, so it’s going to be a knackering weekend (although it’ll also be huge fun clearly).

As I’m moving out on Saturday, packing begins with earnest today. My parents are collecting most of my stuff tomorrow, so I’ll be left with only a few basic things with which to take home (via London).  After I’m home, I’m basically just sorting stuff out for Chile (travel risk forms/health assessment/horse riding lessons/etc.).  I got an email today giving more details about my Atacama placement, and I need a -10 to -15C rated sleeping bag, as it is cold at night.  There will also be strong UV radiation due to the high altitude (2.5-4.5 km).  It’s all very exciting, and is a much cooler “office” than most people get to work in!

Dinner tonight was at a local curry house, as it was JT’s birthday supper, and it was lovely to spend the evening with everyone, especially as most of them are graduating, and so will not be around next year.

Leave a Reply

