TKC

I’m seldom the sentimental type, but today was indeed a sad day, for it marked the departure of my best friend TKC from Britain for the foreseeable future.  Thinking in real terms, not a lot will change, courtesy of modern technology.  I mean, we already have the ability to communicate whenever and wherever we are, at no cost (wooo Skype/WhatsApp/etc.), however the great distance between London and Hong Kong can hardly be deemed to be negligible.  Fortunately, we’ve both agreed to ensure that we don’t lose touch, and so in reality, there is nothing to worry about, and we’ll try to visit each other as much as possible, and she’s considering looking for a job in Britain after her post-graduate law course anyway, so fingers crossed :D!

I arrived at her flat just after 11, just as she was moving out, and, after a nice chat over some tea at a café, we grabbed a delicious steak lunch.  Then, it was off to the tube to get to Heathrow.  Check in was rather exciting, as she was over her baggage weight limit, so we spent some time repacking her stuff, but fortunately, we managed (although various things had to be jettisoned).  Some charity should set up a shop at Heathrow, as I’m sure people would rather donate their excess stuff that they can’t take, rather than bin it, so charities, if you’re reading this, take note!  After a quick drink at another café, it was time to part (and give her an au revoir letter to read on the journey of course – not goodbye, as I’ll see her at some point soon (or die trying)), which is always the most unpleasant experience, especially with someone who is very close to you.  It was then time to take the long journey home.  This wasn’t the first time that I’ve dropped someone off at Heathrow, and taken the tube back alone, and I’m sure it won’t be the last (although this time was the saddest by a large margin).  The journey back is like a trip to the gallows (in terms of enjoyment), but of course, I’m very glad I was there to take her to the airport, and see her off, and I wouldn’t have swapped it for the world.

You may have noticed that I’ve tagged this post under “Family”. Simply put, that’s because to me, she is just like a sister (and no, I’m not exaggerating).

Don’t worry readers, tomorrow’s post will be far less sentimental, no need to panic!

Leave a Reply

