Risky Business

So now I’ve been in Chile just over a month, and the weather is still freezing cold in the mornings.  There is no force as powerful as the attraction of a nice comfy warm bed, in a freezing cold room, at 7 am while it’s dark outside.  However, life goes on, and work must be attended.

Now, pretty much everyday since I’ve been here, I’ve been wearing my green Sedgwick Club fleece to keep warm.  However, today I thought that it needed a break, and, at great risk of looking like a muppet, I donned my new poncho.  As I was walking to the office, a pickup truck pulled up alongside.  Nothing unusual about that, he was just asking whether I wanted a lift.  I politely declined, saying that I preferred to walk, however, I paid close attention to whether I could see any smirks or not.  Luckily there was none.  First hurdle passed, acceptance from a randomer.

I emerged out of the woods at the office, and waved at my colleague through the window, who gave me a thumbs up.  I wasn’t sure if he was being sarcastic or not, as he’s got a pretty solid sense of humour.  I went in to ask, and he said it was fine, although it would look better if I had a horse and a hat.  Hmm, subtle indication of a stupid look perhaps?  I decided not to beat about the bush, and asked him if I looked silly, to which he said no (hooray).  However, rather handily, he gave me some tips on how to wear it (when you’re outside, you keep your arms inside, but inside you roll up the edges so your arms are totally free).  Second hurdle passed, acceptance from colleagues.

The colleague with whom I share an office came in a few minutes later, she seemed to like it a great deal, and said it had nice colours.  At this rate, I’m almost bordering on stylish. Yeah right :P.  Either way, I was extremely warm on my walk to work this morning (as it’s a mixture of sheep and alpaca wool), so it doesn’t really matter!  All I need now is a cup of tea, and I’m sorted!

Leave a Reply

