Thinking Of Blighty

While I work in the office, I listen to LBC which is an excellent radio station.  However, I am pretty partial to the Shipping Forecast as lots of you already know.  Owing to the time difference here, it’s broadcast at 19:48 local time.  Five minutes before it started, I was told it was time for supper.  Reluctantly, I tore myself away, and, upon entering the canteen, I was greeted by the sight of girls in bikinis dancing on the TV (a scene from the show Chicas Malas – or, as you’ll know it better, Mean Girls).  Clearly I was gutted by this.

At this point, I assume that most of you are thinking that I am being sarcastic, however, I know that those of you who know me well will realise that I am being deadly serious.

There is something extraordinarily soothing about the Shipping Bulletin, and for those of you who haven’t heard it (philistines the lot of you :P), it opens with a rather peaceful tune called Sailing By. Following this, there’s the preamble, before launching into the shipping areas, with stuff like “Forties, Cromarty, Dogger, Fisher, North Utsire, south or south west, five or six, moderate or good, occasionally poor”.  After that we get the forecast for the coastal stations, and finally that of the inshore waters of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, starting at Cape Wrath, heading clockwise around Great Britain, and finishing up with Ardnamurchan Point, and the Shetland Islands.  Once that’s over, it’s just time for the National Anthem, before Radio 4 closes down and you get switched over to the World Service (after the Greenwich Time Signal of course)!  Yes I may sound like I’m about 90 years old, and if you think so, you’re forgetting two things.  Firstly, I don’t care (hehehe), and secondly, I am quite far from home, in the middle of a desert, and very far from sea level (so a bit of reminiscing about home I think is justified haha)!

If you feel like you’ve been missing out (which you definitely have), you can listen to one such bulletin here.

Leave a Reply

