I’m Dreaming Of A White Weekend

Last night was interesting, I’ll be honest.  I woke up a few times only to be subjected to what sounded like the craziest storm ever.  Windy was not the word, and the container I live in was creaking quite a fair bit.  Anyway, luckily metal is quite strong, so I thought nothing of it.  I rapidly revised my “thinking nothing of it” once I opened the front door, and promptly put my foot into a couple of inches of snow.  The Atacama is the driest hot desert apparently, but I dispute that.  At the moment, it most certainly is neither dry nor hot, and I’m shivering as I type this with my numb fingers (in spite of the fan heater’s best efforts).  Popping out to the container with the loos in, I noticed that there was quite a bit of snow that had blown in under the door, and in the canteen the tent flap kept opening and a gust of icy wind bade us a good morning.

Ermm ok then...

Ermm, right…

I’ve just finished breakfast, which did warm me up a bit, and talking to my colleagues, fieldwork today has been cancelled (I wonder why)?! Quite different from the “We do fieldwork in all weather!” mantra from the BGS!

Leave a Reply

