Wild Tarantula Appeared!

As with all “Wild x/y/z appeared” things, you do need the compulsory Pokémon fight music in the background.

So there I was, in the pickup truck, on my way to supper, when all of a sudden, the field assistant yelled “¡Una araña!” [A spider!].  Ok, so he didn’t actually yell, but it fits the narrative better than “remarked” or “commented”, and adds to the generic sense of tension and excitement.  Anyway, I digress.

He stopped the truck, and I jumped out to have a closer look.  I spent a minute looking, but to no avail.  I assume it was because I was looking for something more similar in size to our UK house spiders.  How wrong I was…

One of my colleagues then came over and pointed out what it was that I was supposed to be seeing.  Let’s say it wasn’t a sight for the arachnophobic.  This chap was massive (about the size of the palm of my hand), and furry, oh so very furry.  My colleagues then informed me that in fact it was only a baby (awwwww), and the adult ones are really much larger (probably around twice the size).  Unfortunately, I didn’t get a photo as I didn’t have my phone on me, but after a chat, my colleagues said it was Una Araña Pollito, or a Rose Hair Tarantula to you and me.  Here is a good picture of how large these guys can grow [NB: If you don’t like spiders, I would strongly advise against clicking that link]!

Leave a Reply

