The End of the Year

It’s been a very long time, and I can only apologise.  Life and a Master’s degree have caught up with me, and I’ve been rather busy since my last post to say the least.  Add in a broken laptop, and you can see it’s been a less than ideal situation for writing this blog!

Anyway, I thought I’d write a brief “end of the year” entry.

So, what’s been happening since I last wrote?  All in all, I’ve just been doing what I usually do, namely procrastinating and spending time in the pub, with a bit of scientific research done on the side.  Luckily my project is nearly over, but unluckily, I need to write the damned thing up.  Don’t get me wrong though, I’ve really enjoyed doing the work, I just hate writing stuff up!  There’s the option of continuing with it for a Ph.D, and while the title of Dr is very appealing, I feel that my time at Cambridge ought to come to an end.  Graduation awaits in six months, and I should quit while I still can.  I’ll certainly miss that great city and university, but the real world beckons, and all good things must come to an end.

I’ve not just been working though.  Earlier in the holiday, I (along with JW and JM) went to visit old AJ.  He’s doing very well for himself, and it was splendid to catch up with the old rascal (and I know he’ll read this and enjoy that rather apt description of himself).  I’ve recently got interested in photography, and so he and I went around London taking some photos of the city, with a large healthy dose of geekiness thrown in for good measure.

Last week, I went down to one of the Part II’s house for his Christmas party.  From what I remember of it, it was an excellent do, but the trouble is that when students mix with free alcohol, there’s a tendency to enjoy oneself.  In quantitative terms, the 70 or so guests got through 200 bottles of wine that night.

Christmas Day was spent with my maternal family at my home, which as usual was lovely.  Boxing Day involved me meeting up with my old friend JL.  SJ unfortunately was busy, so I wasn’t able to see him this time.  He’s now working in Germany, so it’s a little more difficult to meet alas!

Today and tomorrow, I’m down visiting my father’s family in Poole.  My cousins and uncle (who live on Jersey) are arriving in the morning, and it’ll be lovely to see them, as it’s been ages!  After I get home, I’ll have to put my nose to the grindstone and get my project done. There is something to look forward to however, as the annual Sedgwick Pub weekend of fun and booze geology field trip is in the middle of January (we leave a couple of hours after the project’s handed in), so that should be excellent.

All that remains is for me to wish you all a thoroughly Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

