The Latest Update

Good news everyone, the internet in the flat I’m staying in has somehow fixed itself, so I am now able to write my blog again.  I’ve not really had time to do one until now, as everything’s been rather busy regarding my new job in Woking (of The War of the Worlds and Town Called Malice fame)!  I’ve now done it for around 4 weeks, and it’s slowly beginning to make sense which is good!  It’s interesting and fun, so I’m rather lucky, as I definitely am of the mindset that a job you don’t enjoy is a pointless waste of your life.

I’ve spent the last month in the company flat, while looking for a more permanent place to stay.  Fortunately that is now sorted, and I’ll be joining a flatshare with some people who work at McLaren above an architect’s studio.  I’ve not met them yet, but the signing and deposit paying etc. stuff is happening next week, so I’ll meet them then.  It’s a 20 minute walk from the office, but I think there’s a bus for when it rains.  Handy, as being ripped off for a daily train ride isn’t really appealing to be honest.

So aside from my new job as a geophysicist, what have I been doing? Well, for those of you who know me, the answer is fairly obvious I should imagine (spending time with friends in bars for those of you who don’t).  The office also has a weekly pub lunch on Fridays (so that’s something to look forward to tomorrow), which is a good chance to get to know more of my colleagues.  The company is quite small, with only around 50 people in the office in total, so everyone knows everyone.  It certainly makes the transition from the Cambridge Geology Department less stressful although I do miss it a lot (and I’m not just saying that because I know Fabio and SP amongst others read this), as that was more or less a similar size (my year and the year below was around 45 people ish, and we often had pub lunches too).

This weekend it’s back to the other side of Surrey to see my family for the Bank Holiday weekend.  As is traditional for my family (presumably due to us having grown up in rural Surrey), we’ll be attending a local annual agricultural show.  If I remember I’ll write a post about it with some photos.

Leave a Reply

