The Edenbridge and Oxted Agricultural Show

So, I’ve just come back from a very enjoyable Bank Holiday with my family at home on the other side of Surrey (I know, I go to such exotic places nowadays).  In my last post, I mentioned that I was going to the agricultural show that is held every August bank holiday in one of the adjacent villages to my own, so I thought it might be fun to write a bit about it.

Traditionally my family goes every year, but due to my being in Chile last summer, I had to miss it, so this year I fully intended to go.  It’s a fun day out, with all the typical events one might expect from a country show, including a vegetable contest, gun dog displays, an on site farrier, etc.  

20140824_121324

Personally my favourite would be the vegetable and flower displays, as they are always very inventive and spectacular. One rather fun spectacle was a sheep (called Amy) wandering around with her owner. Apparently she’s been on various television programmes and is something of a star.  

Amy the sheep

Amy the sheep

There was also an owl show, because who doesn’t love an owl?!

20140824_145103

Anyway, the day usually starts with an amble round the whole show to see what’s on offer, followed by a picnic (with smoked salmon sandwiches naturally)!  After lunch, we all split up to go and see the stalls we’re particularly keen on.  

This was a good stall!

This was a good stall!

This year we were very lucky with the weather, which is unusual for a Bank Holiday.

Apologies if this isn’t the most scintillating post to date!  I’m still having internet troubles in the company flat, so I’m writing this just before I go to work (as it seems to work* in the mornings, but not in the evenings for some reason), so I’m not really on top writing form right now alas! *By “work” I mean “connects at almost dial-up speeds rather than not at all”…

Edit (30/8/14):  Updated with photos!

Leave a Reply

