A Perambulation around Paramaribo: Part 1

Due to various reasons, too numerous and tedious to list here, there has been no work to do since I arrived in Suriname on Tuesday evening.  I have however been required to man the office with my colleague during office hours.  Sadly this has led to exceptionally itchy feet being developed (figuratively speaking of course), as it seemed a bit of a wasted opportunity to sit in an office with nothing to do, whilst in a country one is highly unlikely to ever return to again.  Fortunately, my colleague this morning (for we work 7 days a week the entire time we are out here) said I could have a couple of hours off to have a look around.  Said colleague instantly became a hero in my book, and I seized the opportunity with a slightly manic level of enthusiasm.  Having a quick look at Lonely Planet webpage for Paramaribo, it lists the sum total of nine things to see (at the time of writing).  Of these, there are more or less two duplicates, leading to a realistic count of around seven things to see (although the Cathedral isn’t listed on that site).  Anyway, without further ado, let’s get down to business.

A tradition that I started during my Chilean exploits, I have bought the national flag of each country I have been to, and so top of the to do list was the need to acquire a Surinamese flag.  Fortunately I’d done my homework, and I knew exactly where to buy one.  There’s an arts and crafts shop called Readytex that caters to tourists, and so this was the first target of the day.  To get there I walked along the riverside, and enjoyed the colonial architecture and saw the Suriname River, along with the bridge and the wreck of De Goslar (link in Dutch), which was sunk in 1940 and has been there ever since.

20141108_104944

After buying my flag, I took a quick detour to look at a church, and went in search of the Central Market.  This was enormous, with all sorts of fruits, vegetables, and fish on sale from a plethora of vendors.

20141108_112711

Inside the covered area of the market was an enormous array of stalls, selling more fruit and vegetables.  There was also an upstairs section where clothes and other assortments were available for purchase.

20141108_113040

Looking at the ground floor of the market from the staircase up to the first floor

Next door to the main building of the market was another, smaller one that sold a variety of herbs and other odds and ends.

20141108_113724

After exploring these various stalls, I headed back out into the baking equatorial midday sunshine, and ambled to my next destination, the wooden cathedral of St Peter and St Paul.  That is where the next instalment will continue from.

Leave a Reply

