A Perambulation around Paramaribo: Part 2

There are two reasons why I decided to split up my trip into a multipart extravaganza.  The main reason is because one long post would have been exceptionally photo heavy, and secondly, because the internet is very slow here, and it would have taken an age to upload all the other photos.  Oh, and because everyone loves a multipart special!

Anyway, picking up from where we left off from yesterday, on my journey around the central area of Paramaribo, I’d reached the wooden cathedral of St Peter and St Paul.  It was rather striking, and is built entirely out of wood (as far as I know).  Crossing the road, I went inside.

20141108_114729

Unlike the mediæval stone cathedrals of Europe, this one was very light and airy inside.  This was definitely a good move, given how hot it was outside.  Being in the shade was a refreshing change at this point, as I’d been out in the sun for the best part of an hour and a half (and being of Northern European descent, my skin was getting a rather sound beating from the sun)!

20141108_114857

With the cathedral having been seen, it was time to make my way slowly back to the hotel where I was staying (and where the office is situated).  En route, I stopped by Independence Square (which I’d passed on my way into town, but hadn’t stopped at).  Various important government buildings surround the square, including the Presidential Palace, the Finance Ministry, and the National Assembly.

The Presidential Palace

The Presidential Palace

The Finance Ministry

The Finance Ministry

Moving round to the riverside edge of the square one finds Fort Zeelandia.  Originally built by the Dutch, it was extended and reinforced by the Brits (Fun Fact: it turns out Suriname was one of Britain’s colonies for a bit, but it was swapped for what is now New York as part of the peace settlement reached at the end of the Second Anglo-Dutch War).

Fort Zeelandia

Fort Zeelandia

The final stop on my two hour expedition was to the Palmentuin, the oldest park in Paramaribo, and a national monument.  It was a delightful place (aside from the warnings not to visit it at night from the FCO).  However at midday it was very peaceful.  It contains around 1,000 palm trees, giving it an exceptionally tropical vibe.

20141108_120817

After this, I strolled back to the office before grabbing lunch.  All in all, a very enjoyable and interesting morning!

Leave a Reply

