A Perambulation around Paramaribo: Part 3

Yeah!  It’s back once more (and I’m too lazy to think up a new title, so that’s also part of it).  Today is another quiet day (as work that was going to be done today ended up being given to us yesterday, which means it’s already been done – if that makes sense)?  Anyway, enough of that.  I’ve once more been out around the city, this time ticking off a couple more of the Lonely Planet sights.

The aim for the day was to go and have a look at the city’s mosque and synagogue.  However, the first building of note that I passed was the Foreign Ministry.

The Foreign Ministry

The Foreign Ministry (on the right)

Continuing along the road, I passed the cathedral (see my previous post for pictures) before heading down a road on the left.  I’d noticed on the map that there was a small square that looked like a park, as it was on the way to the mosque and synagogue, I thought I’d have a look.  The building in the centre of the grassy area was the Reformed Church.

The Reformed Chuch

The Reformed Church

Continuing down the palm lined streets in the hot Saturday morning sunshine, I enjoyed the Dutch colonial architecture that pervades the city.

20141115_104156

A little farther along, I came across some rather picturesque overgrown houses.  It reminded me of the old houses in Britain that have creepers growing all over them, a bit like Lincoln College at The Other Place, but with a more tropical atmosphere.

20141115_104332

Emerging on yet another street, I’d reached the area where the mosque and synagogue are, but, like the previous expedition, that’ll be in a separate part!

Leave a Reply

