A Perambulation around Paramaribo: Part 4

So, continuing with my second expedition around Paramaribo, after walking down palm tree lined streets (which provided welcome relief from the relentless equatorial sunshine – on a brief aside, I got rather sunburned last week when I was out, so this week I took more precautions – the old long sleeved shirt and linen trousers routine, along with my “Indiana Jones-esque” hat.  Luckily it seems to have worked this time!).

I’d just reached the part of town where the mosque and synagogue are. They’re very close to one another, as in, right next door.  Middle East take note – you can be friends!

Mosque (left), synagogue (right).

Mosque (left), synagogue (right)

Unfortunately they were both closed, but they were rather picturesque nevertheless.  The synagogue, like the cathedral, is also built out of wood and dates from the seventeenth century.

The wooden synagogue

The wooden synagogue

The mosque was stunning.  I’ve always rather liked Islamic architecture.  I find that it is very elegant with all the domes, arches and geometric patterns, and this mosque was no different. Unfortunately there was no muezzin singing to complete the experience while I was standing outside, you can’t have it all I guess!

20141115_104722

Finally, having crossed off two more sights in the city, I decided to amble back towards the hotel/office.  I took a different route, in order to maximise the areas of town that I’d see.  Passing the block where Readytex was (where I bought my flag – see this post), I eventually emerged at the waterfront by the Central Market.  I’d definitely like to visit the market again before I leave, but decided not to today (it was starting to get rather quite hot at this point)!  Instead I continued along the bank of the Suriname river down the charming Waterkant (a key part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Historic Inner City of Paramaribo), past the Central Bank of Suriname.

The Central Bank of Suriname

The Central Bank of Suriname

As it’s a Saturday today, the bank is of course closed.  I’m aiming to go back one weekday though, as there’s a Numismatic Museum there that shows the history of money in Suriname.  It’s open 08:00-14:00, so I could always go in the morning before work, we shall see. Continuing along this road brought me back to Independence Square. I passed the National Assembly before returning to the office.

The National Assembly

The National Assembly

Leave a Reply

